Northern Region High School Festival

Northern Region HS Virtual Sessions

The Region Director will email the links to these virtual sessions to participating directors to share with their students.

Payment to CMEA is $10 per student, one school issued check or purchase order. These events are open to any student who completed an audition for the high school region festival. Teachers may use the region audition invoice to mail in with payment, cross off any name that is not participating and adjust the total.

Session Times:

Friday January 15: Orchestra 3:30 pm

Saturday January 16: Jazz Band: 11:00 am  Concert Band 1:00 pm    Choir 2:30 pm

Session Details for Students: Please download and share with your students to best prepare them for these sessions.

2020-21 Audition Information

Auditions for the 2020-21 school year will be held virtually only  through the new CTFest Audition platform which has an opening date for teacher registration of October 15.

The school association fee must be paid, school association form received and individual teacher memberships current in order to register students for auditions.

There will be no in-person festivals this year, however festival ensembles will still be selected through this audition and teachers will be notified of their students selection to the festival’s “paper ensemble”. As it is during a normal year, the HS students who are selected for their region festival “paper” ensemble will then be eligible to audition at the All-State level.

Registration Closes: November 11, 2020 **   Last Day to upload videos: November 21, 2020

**Late registrations will not be accepted under any circumstance. Audition registration closes Nov 11, but teachers may continue to upload videos past that date for registered students until Nov 21.

Audition Fee: $15 (Due 11/20/20)

Festival Information:
January 15-16, 2021 (snow dates 1/22-23)
New Britain High School
110 Mill Street
New Britain CT. 06051

Festival Acceptance by November 20, 2020

Festival Fee $38 (Postmarked by 12/11/20)
Concert Ticket $15  Concert Time  TBA

HARP Auditions: All MS and HS harp region auditions will take place together on one day at the Southern Region HS Auditions, on November 21 at Joseph A. Foran High School, Milford. Teachers should register harp students in their own regions as they do all other students. MS teachers please note that MS harp students must be registered on CTFest by October 23, in order to create the SRHS schedule.

Committee Members

Northern Region Co-Director

Dawn Brys

Northern Region Co-Director

Sharon Vocke

HS Audition Scheduler

log in required to view contact

Festival Co-Chair

Thomas Krupa

Festival Co-Chair

David Syzdek

Adjudication Site Host

Andrew Brochu

Jazz Band Co-Chair

Rachel Antonucci

Band Co-Chair

Scott Minnerly

Band Co-Chair

Wayne Splettztoeszer

Jazz Band Co-Chair

James Antonucci

Orchestra Co-Chair

Emmett Drake

Orchestra Co-Chair

Shannon Webster

Choir Chair

Danielle Colosimo Abucewicz


Concert Band



James Niblock



Jazz Ensemble


Teacher’s Guide to CTFest Videos

CMEA Copyright Policy

CMEA expects all students participating in the audition process to abide by all copyright laws. Students must have an original piece of music, a digitally purchased copy w/receipt, a public domain copy, or perform from memory. With the exception of students performing from memory, students auditioning without an acceptable copy of music may be disqualified from festival participation.